AdDU’s law debating club beats UP team

Monday, 08 June 2009 08:40

- To represent RP in Malaysia; another team to compete in Australia

THE Ateneo Forensic, the debating club of the Ateneo de Davao University law school, won the First International Humanitarian Law Debate, beating the University of the Philippines College of Law.
The team is composed of Vincent C. Juan, 2nd year law; Kristine Ferrer, 4th year law; and Kristine Joyce Castrodes, 2nd year law.
The team, coached by lawyer Israelito Torreon,  Ateneo Forensic moderator,  will represent the country in the regional international humanitarian law debate in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on June 12-14, 2009
The Ateneo de Davao team beat the UP law team on the proposition “This House should urge states to denounce the 1949 Geneva Conventions for being ineffective in protecting civilians during the conflicts in Afghanistan, Iraq, and Georgia.”  The UP law team took the affirmative side, while Ateneo de Davao took the negative side.
Ateneo de Davao reached the finals after beating Arellano University in the elimination round on the proposition “This House believes that the perpetrators of crimes against humanity should be tried only in international courts, not in local courts” where the team defended the negative side. It qualified for the semifinal rounds, beating University of Santo Tomas on the proposition  “This House believes that the actions of Israel in the Gaza Strip do not violate international humanitarian law principles” where they took the affirmative side.
Kristine Ferrer and Vincent Juan were cited as first and second best debaters, respectively.
Another Ateneo Forensic team composed of Vincent Juan, Xyza Therese Gemelo, and Mariness Ledesma, will compete in the quarterfinals of ABS CBN News Channel Square Off Debates sponsored by the CVC law firm within the month after beating the University of the East in the elimination round.
Another team composed of Vincent Juan and Mariness Ledesma will represent the Philippines in the international humanitarian law moot court competition on July 13-19, 2009 at Griffin University in Brisbane, Australia.